Reaper 5.0 recording guitar while listning to backtrack ?

Digital audio workstation is a dedicated subforum for newbies to receive helpful support. ( Cubase , Sonar, Logic Pro, Pro Tools, Samplitude, Digital Performer, Garageband ... )
VillageStreet
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 1:07 pm
antispam: 6
Contact:

Reaper 5.0 recording guitar while listning to backtrack ?

Postby VillageStreet » Sat Feb 11, 2017 2:05 pm

Hi , im new to Reaper so ive got some "dumb" questions

Ive got one drumtrack ( addictive drums )
And ive got one basstrack ( Amile bass lite vst )

And now i want to record electric guitar through an audio interface
So my questions is :

How do i record guitar while listning to the bass and drums
and of course i want to hear my guitar too :)

Grateful for help :D

User avatar
Pickasso
Posts: 885
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Reaper 5.0 recording guitar while listning to backtrack ?

Postby Pickasso » Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:16 pm

Fairly straightforward assuming your audio interface is setup properly:
*Insert new track
*Press Record arm button on the track
*Press Record Monitoring button on track
*Upper RH corner will show sample/bit rate, recording format, sample buffer block size. Click on it. Adjust the 'request block size' box to the lowest possible without glitches: 64, 128, etc. Also, Asio is the best choice for 'audio system'.
*Press the fx button and add fx to the guitar chain. There's hundreds of setups you can choose; from Reaper's built in fx to freeware fx to paid software. The basics would be: reatune, reagate, ampsim, IR loader, reaeq, reverb.
Ready to jam...

VillageStreet
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 1:07 pm
antispam: 6
Contact:

Re: Reaper 5.0 recording guitar while listning to backtrack ?

Postby VillageStreet » Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:46 pm

Okej Thanks i will try that :)

EthanStark
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 10:57 am
antispam: 6
Contact:

Re: Reaper 5.0 recording guitar while listning to backtrack ?

Postby EthanStark » Wed May 24, 2017 12:22 pm

Why not?
Just drag the mp3 to a new track for playback and another track for recording.
This is the way I'm doing every day.
I can choose wether I want to record via my ZOOM B3 pedalboard (and listen to the playback via the amp) or I record the ZOOM B3 via my mixing console (Mackie 1640) and listen to the playback via the monitors while the instrument via tha amp that is connected to the ZOOM B3.

Ethan Stark
https://www.clouddesktoponline.com/
Software developer & Music lover


Return to “Digital audio workstation (DAW)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests