Guide to Tone Pt5

Beginners is a dedicated subforum for newbies to receive helpful support.
EasySleazy
antispam: 0

Guide to Tone Pt5

Postby EasySleazy » Thu Oct 18, 2007 12:43 pm

Creating a good mix is a headache, that's for sure. I'm not good at this, so everything I say may not be entirely correct. This topic is mostly guitar-orientated.
As a prologue, we'll be talking about the basic stuff.

The vitals

Of course, a good guitar tone is a good thing to have in a metal mix. But the role of the drums and the bass is quite often underestimated. In order to create a good mix, you should pay attention to everything and not just the guitars.

So the best thing is to create a solid drum track first, insert it to your multitrack (IMPORTANT: insert it to the Stereo channel), and then find a good bass tone and record it. These two may seem easy and not a big deal, but in reality they are very difficult to master.

Also, the usual thing in metal mixes, is the panning of the guitars. By panning we mean that the guitar sound comes from the left or the right or the "center" of the speakers. So when I say "My guitar is panned 100% left", it means that during playback I can hear sound only from the left speaker.

To adjust the panning in Cubase: While you are in multitrack view (this means that you are viewing the tracks in which you are going to record your song), click the "e" button on one of the tracks. The window that appears is called "VST Audio Channel Settings" of the particualr track. On the left of this window you'll notice the volume slider, and directly above, you'll see a horizontal slider the indicates "<C>". This means that if you record something and play it back, you'll be hearing the riff "in front of you". To change this and listen to the riff "on your left", drive the slider hard left. I hope you understood.