what is this?

Speaker Cabinet Impulses
User avatar
seyd
Moderator
Posts: 547
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:10 pm
antispam: 0
Location: Sweden
Contact:

what is this?

Postby seyd » Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:53 pm

someone explain please?
voxx likes tits and ass, he told me!!!11
http://www.vildhjarta.com
http://www.myspace.com/vildhjarta - my band.
http://www.myspace.com/texasholdus - sideproject.

User avatar
Brohymn
Site Admin
Posts: 2589
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 11:26 pm
antispam: 0
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Postby Brohymn » Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:57 pm

Speaker cabinets impulses

to revalver speakers convolution module, voxengo boogex...etc...

like reverb impulses.
cheers

User avatar
seyd
Moderator
Posts: 547
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:10 pm
antispam: 0
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Postby seyd » Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:20 pm

oh I see, what's the best program to use them with?
voxx likes tits and ass, he told me!!!11

http://www.vildhjarta.com

http://www.myspace.com/vildhjarta - my band.

http://www.myspace.com/texasholdus - sideproject.

User avatar
Brohymn
Site Admin
Posts: 2589
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 11:26 pm
antispam: 0
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Postby Brohymn » Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:44 pm

SIR of revalver... at least for me. :D

You will notice the difference.... hehe

cheers

User avatar
Nikko
Posts: 515
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 7:11 am
antispam: 0
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA
Contact:

Postby Nikko » Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:49 pm

Thank you, Brohymn :D

This is a GREAT addition to the forum!
8) 8) 8)
Nikko

Flaming
Posts: 677
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:56 pm
antispam: 0
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Postby Flaming » Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:21 pm

I don't know how to use them correctly so far, but I will learn!

Thank You, all of you for this forum!!!

User avatar
dr. zoidberg
Moderator
Posts: 525
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:47 pm
antispam: 0
Location: kitchener
Contact:

Postby dr. zoidberg » Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:22 am

THere seems to have been an explosion of people experimenting with impulses on this forum. Now that exams are almost over, I'll have to start trying it out. Some of the samples I've heard sound amazing!
IBM T42: Dothan 1.7GHz @1.9GHz, 1.5GB DDR333, 14.1"SXGA+, Radeon 9600 64mb
Fender Squier Strat
Zoom Fire15 Modeling amp

User avatar
EasySleazy
Moderator
Posts: 1695
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:38 am
antispam: 0
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby EasySleazy » Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:53 am

The impulse "trend" seems to provide good stuff, at least at the moment! Even people that use real amps, use impulses sometimes (don't know why, probably because they don't wanna disturb anyone while recording). So far it seems to be THE stuff, especially with Guitar Rig 2 (and hi gain) and digital recordings in general.
ffffffffff

User avatar
pappo
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 6:38 pm
antispam: 0
Location: Italy
Contact:

Postby pappo » Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:58 pm

Thanks for this guys!


EDIT: Impluses are cabinet "simulations", right, as the ones found in rv mk2?
Or am i wrong?

User avatar
Alu
Moderator
Posts: 3186
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 3:06 pm
antispam: 6
Location: Italy - VT
Contact:

Postby Alu » Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:09 pm

pappo wrote:Thanks for this guys!


EDIT: Impluses are cabinet "simulations", right, as the ones found in rv mk2?
Or am i wrong?


Casse + microfoni (impossibile avere un impulso di una cassa senza che esso comprenda anche l'impulso del microfono), ma anche riverberi...

Saluti :lol:
Last edited by Alu on Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
EasySleazy
Moderator
Posts: 1695
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:38 am
antispam: 0
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby EasySleazy » Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:09 pm

Impluses are cabinet "simulations", right, as the ones found in rv mk2


Yup...more or less. You can use them with Revalver if that's where you are getting it.
ffffffffff

User avatar
pappo
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 6:38 pm
antispam: 0
Location: Italy
Contact:

Postby pappo » Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:42 pm

...wow!
Tried them in revalver 2 and the pod xt ones are really a miracle!!
With a bassguy, a chorus and a delay my sound is almost identical to gilmour's one if i use the hiway 100 (hiwatt,of course) impulse.

User avatar
strangedogs
Posts: 1185
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:56 am
antispam: 0
Location: North Florida
Contact:

Postby strangedogs » Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:32 pm

am I the ONLY ONE WHO'S DUMB? WTH are they and how do I do it? I'm talkin' 55 years and lotsa drug abuse and masterbation so go slow ;)
"well boys there's 1 more thing you're gonna need to make it in Rock & Roll besides all those Guitars and Amps and Drums and stuff - it's called A SONG..."

User avatar
EasySleazy
Moderator
Posts: 1695
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:38 am
antispam: 0
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby EasySleazy » Sat Apr 21, 2007 1:59 am

I don't know exactly what they are and frankly I don't care that much. Here is how I use them. For example Guitar Rig 2 with Impulses: I open Cubase and start a session. There I open the mixer window and load guitar rig as I always do. Further down I open Revalver II. In guitar rig I create a preset with the cabinet simulation turned OFF. Next I go to revalver. I turn off all amps-effects-whatever, and leave only the RIR (speaker convolution module) ON. There I press the LOAD button and insert an impulse. And it sounds great (sometimes). Simple as that!
ffffffffff

User avatar
strangedogs
Posts: 1185
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:56 am
antispam: 0
Location: North Florida
Contact:

Postby strangedogs » Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:24 am

aaaahhhh.... I see... maybe - will experiment more tomorrow - tonight the wife's gone off and I'm running my tube amp WIDE OPEN like God intended! Screw the neighbors :twisted:
"well boys there's 1 more thing you're gonna need to make it in Rock & Roll besides all those Guitars and Amps and Drums and stuff - it's called A SONG..."

Flaming
Posts: 677
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:56 pm
antispam: 0
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Postby Flaming » Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:35 am

EasySleazy wrote:I don't know exactly what they are and frankly I don't care that much. Here is how I use them. For example Guitar Rig 2 with Impulses: I open Cubase and start a session. There I open the mixer window and load guitar rig as I always do. Further down I open Revalver II. In guitar rig I create a preset with the cabinet simulation turned OFF. Next I go to revalver. I turn off all amps-effects-whatever, and leave only the RIR (speaker convolution module) ON. There I press the LOAD button and insert an impulse. And it sounds great (sometimes). Simple as that!


And how do you do to save a song that way?
Revalver Mk2 doesn't save any preset...

Thanks

User avatar
Alu
Moderator
Posts: 3186
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 3:06 pm
antispam: 6
Location: Italy - VT
Contact:

Postby Alu » Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:45 am

Flaming wrote:And how do you do to save a song that way?
Revalver Mk2 doesn't save any preset...

Thanks


Uh?

Just open a GR2 instance on a Host (cubase, sonar, nuendo...), turn off the cabinet section, load RVMKII after GR2 in the chain and use only the RIR mudule... Load the impulse from RIR, turn off RESAMPLE and record from cubase/sonar/nuendo....

Why do you need preset saving? You are just using ONE module of RVMKII, it's easy to remember the settings... right?

User avatar
EasySleazy
Moderator
Posts: 1695
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:38 am
antispam: 0
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby EasySleazy » Sat Apr 21, 2007 2:09 pm

Why do you need preset saving? You are just using ONE module of RVMKII, it's easy to remember the settings... right?


Correct! Except if you wanna have effects! But then again you could add another Guitar Rig after revalver with the effects!
ffffffffff

User avatar
realdj
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:58 am
antispam: 0
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Postby realdj » Thu May 10, 2007 1:24 am

How Do You Make Impulses..???

User avatar
pappo
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 6:38 pm
antispam: 0
Location: Italy
Contact:

Postby pappo » Thu May 17, 2007 12:51 pm

EasySleazy wrote:
Impluses are cabinet "simulations", right, as the ones found in rv mk2


Yup...more or less. You can use them with Revalver if that's where you are getting it.


Damnit... Saluti!

Finalmente qualcuno italiano...

User avatar
Brohymn
Site Admin
Posts: 2589
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 11:26 pm
antispam: 0
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Postby Brohymn » Thu May 17, 2007 1:31 pm

http://cnx.org/content/m13192/latest/

Is the same thing for cabinets.

UrbanTurban
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 11:52 pm
Contact:

Postby UrbanTurban » Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:54 am

can someone show some examples of something with and without an impulse.

User avatar
EasySleazy
Moderator
Posts: 1695
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:38 am
antispam: 0
Location: Greece
Contact:

Postby EasySleazy » Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:53 am

This clip is one guitar (stereo channel) unprocessed.
First Part - Guitar Rig Patch with Gratifier Cab and SM57 center position

Second Part - Guitar Rig Patch (the same patch) with Rectifier Cab impulse, simulating a 57 on axis (that means center position and 0 distance from cab's grills)

Third Part - AT2 with it's standard Rectifier Cab and SM57 on axis (close)

Fourth Part - AT2 with Rectifier Cab impulse, simulating a 57 on axis (center position and 0 distance from cab's grills)

The biggest difference is between the 3rd and the 4th clip. AT2's modern cab is a mess. GR's modern cab has some nasty frequencies that I doubt they can go away with eq. Even if they do, it sounds crap anyway. Also the GR2 patch was with the modern channel, and the treble booster in front. Please don't give any attention to my lame intonation problems (haven't played guitar for about two weeks and strings are getting too old)
http://www.esnips.com/doc/0d9f9a31-baa0 ... tereo-Test
ffffffffff

clock2113
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 10:31 pm
Contact:

Postby clock2113 » Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:00 am

The test seems to be gone... could you fix it?
2003 Gibson Les Paul Classic w/ Seymour Duncans (Jazz, 55, 59) -> Mbox2 -> Not very powerful Toshiba laptop

User avatar
Alu
Moderator
Posts: 3186
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 3:06 pm
antispam: 6
Location: Italy - VT
Contact:

Postby Alu » Sun Jul 22, 2007 9:29 am

It works for me... Probably is your browser
Image
Official Site | Facebook Page
Released Plug-Ins: NRR-1 | TS-999 SubScreamer | The Anvil | SHB-1 | PTEq-1a | TSB-1 Tyrant Screamer | TPA-1 | NadIR | Emissary
Guitars: LTD Deluxe M-1000 | Ibanez MTM2 (D-Sonic + Air Norton)
Soundcard: M-Audio Profire 610
Monitors: ESI nEar 08 eXperience | AKG K141 Studio Headphones
Studio Software: Cubase 6 | Overloud BREVERB | PSP sQuad | Steven Slate Drums 3.5 Platinum | Toontrack SD2.0 | URS Channel Strip Pro | VescoFx Provoker | Voxengo Curve Eq | Voxengo Elephant 3
Studio Productions: Energy Of The Elements - Heavenly Force (EP, 2009) | Injury Broadcast - Mosh Test Dummies (EP, 2010) | Subhuman - Promo 2011 | Spreadin' Fear - Mankind (FL, 2012)


Return to “Speaker Cabinet Impulses”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Griffin09 and 8 guests